GF: An army of mini-crescent dogs


A day or two before Christmas, I opened my email to find a copy of a recipe from the Celiac forums (on Delphi). One that I was assured I would enjoy, love, and become another voice for WAHOO and GOODNESS in the Gluten-Free baking world.

My friend was RIGHT ON!

The original version of the recipe can be found at BetterBatter.com and was published there by Naomi. Her super easy crescent rolls are exactly that – but the version emailed to me was typed up by Jen on the Delphi Forums (who I adore as her cheery voice is a much needed guiding light along with many others from the forums there). She states in her post (the entire thing was copied/emailed to me) that she was retyping the recipe from the many suggestions, adaptations, and changes created and discussed by the many members of the forums.

A LITTLE SIDE NOTE: This (the sharing or ideas and recipes) is, seriously, what I miss MOST about participating with the Forums. I LOVE the mix of voices that enter and flow in and out with recipes. It makes cooking and baking in my kitchen alone feel like I am doing so within a large sisterhood of bakers. If you find yourself alone in the gluten-free world, please don’t hesitate to find a voice within a listserv or, in particular, the Delphi Forums that sings to your soul and echoes your needs/wishes. There are so many GF people in the world now; you are more than likely to find a dozen friendly-typers and supportive voices by exploring the forums. They will give you the courage to head out into the land of dinner parties, work trips, school pizza parties and more with your head held high and a plan in place (or a dang good story to distract you from the appetizer trays, etc). The men and women of the forums are fabulous. Check them out if you have the inclination.

….BACK TO THE RECIPE….

The beauty of this crescent recipe is the ease with which you can adapt it and use it for a wider variety of purposes – like Cassandra’s crescent rolls, cinnamon rolls, and now PIZZA! (You go, girl!)

Another beautiful thing? It’s dang forgiving when you rush through it and make adjustments on your own. Like me. I screwed up the first time I made it (screwed up = didn’t follow the recipe because I was in a hurry and chatting with my family when I was baking) but the rolls were DELICIOUS and DEVOURED within 30 minutes of being out of the oven.

Since then, I’ve made my little boo-boo version of the recipe 4 times (once was a double recipe). I’ve made crescent rolls to serve with dinner and an army of crescent dogs from mini Aidell’s spicy (GF) sausages as well as the Aidell’s mini Chicken-Apple Sausage (GF, of course).

The crescents were gone before anything else during dinner. My parents (both of whom can eat gluten) have been asking for the recipe and – get this – how to convert it to a GLUTEN one! (Bwahahahahhaha!)

My nephews (for whom the mini-dog crescents were created) were delighted to see the plates of mini-dogs enter their house for dinner. I am fairly certain that my sister and her husband were equally delighted. Although, we did eat all of the mini-dogs and not all of the chili my poor brother-in-law slaved over. (I am feeling a little guilty about that – but not guilty about the joy on my nephew’s face when he saw the dogs! LOL)

A Lunch made with Love

Last night, I made the recipe again for my lunch today at work. A little GF Stromboli, anyone? I wrapped some GF pastrami with some fresh basil leaves into the dough before baking. Once they had cooled, I placed them into a Ziploc bag on the kitchen counter overnight. In the morning, I packed the still-soft crescent rolls into my bento box and enjoyed them for lunch (still soft but a bit dry- not too dry though, thanks to the pastrami) some 5 hours later. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!

Lastly, I made some into sweet rolls last night too. I spread some Nutella (I’m a sucker for Nutella. I blame my mom, but that’s another story.) onto the dough before baking. Not too much – just a dab. And OH MY. YUMMMMMMMMMMMMY!

Now on to the real reason you are reading this far: THE RECIPE(s)

You can find a copy of the original recipe here at BetterBatter.com. (Thank you, Naomi!)

You can find a copy of Jen’s post (from the amalgamated Delphi Forums Sisterhood & Brotherhood of Baker’s) here on Cassandra’s site.

You can also find GREAT ideas from Cassandra about using this for cinnamon rolls, pizza dough, etc.

Here’s what I ended up doing: I used Jen’s version, but doubled the butter, added fixed amounts of cottage cheese and cream cheese, omitted the vinegar, and added a bit of sweet rice flour. I also have a batch for tomorrow into which I will be rolling/kneading some grated butter (frozen stick of butter into the grater on the food processor and WAH-LAH – grated butter that I store in the freezer). I want to see if I can make these already puffy and delicious CRESCENT rolls into a more CROISSANT-style final baked product.

The worst case scenario? I have to eat a ton of delicious crescent rolls before I am rewarded with a wonderful chocolate croissant and latte breakfast. I am willing to suffer the consequences. LOL

Here’s the recipe I finally ended up baking.

GF Crescent Rolls
Ingredients:
1 stick of butter, (8 Tablespoons) slightly softened
1/3 cup (generous) low fat, gluten-free cottage cheese
1/3 cup + 1 Tablespoon (or generous cup) GF cream cheese
1 cup GF Flour Mix (I used mine or use a rice or sorghum based mix)
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 Tablespoon sugar

Directions:

  1. Cream together butter, cream cheese, and cottage cheese until whipped, creamy and semi-yellow in color (about 3-4 minutes)
  2. Add remaining ingredients and mix until the dough comes together – mostly away from the sides and begins to form a ball or lump in the middle of the mixer (about 2-4 minutes).
  3. At this point you have two choices:
    1. Wrap the ball in plastic wrap, flatten into a disk and refrigerate for up to two hours to chill the dough. This will help the dough become more puffy and soft when you bake it.
    2. Use it right away (yes, I have no patience). The crescent rolls made this way are tasty, but not as puffy or soft as the ones that have cooled and allowed the butter to become firm again.
  4. Preheat your oven to 350F.
  5. Dust a silpat or parchment paper generously with sweet rice flour.
  6. Flatten the dough disk a bit with your hands. Dust the top of the disk with rice flour and flip it over. Dust the top again.
  7. Roll the dough out to 1/4″ thickness (or a little thicker if you prefer). Again, you have a couple choices here (many more than I name):
    1. Roll it out into a circle as though it were for a pie crust. Cut with a knife or pizza cutter into eight slices. Roll each slice from the wide end up to the tip to form crescent rolls. Curl each slightly and place on a lined (with parchment paper or a silpat) baking sheet.
    2. Roll it into a large rectangle (10 inches wide and as long as you can get it) and cut into 2″ wide strips. Roll GF lunch meats or fillings (about 1 1/2 Tablespoons) into each strip. Bake as you would for the crescent rolls. (This is what I did for my pastrami sandwiches.)
    3. Roll into a large rectangle (as above) and spread a little Nutella on each strip. Roll and bake as you would for crescents.
  8. Bake at 350F for 12-18 minutes or until slightly golden on top. The rolls will be soft once cooled a bit and tender due to the amount of butter in the recipe. If you prefer a firmer crescent, lessen the butter to Naomi and Jen’s version – about 4 Tablespoons or 1/2 stick.

Happy GF Eating, All!
-Kate

Comments

  1. Wow – these look really good. Put a little slice of cheese inside before you roll/bake and voila – even better!

    These are easy, Steve. You have to give them a try! =) And the cheese? OH BABY – sign me up! 🙂
    I didn’t put cheese in my lunch sandwich because I didn’t want to refrigerate it, but rather leave it on the counter.
    I’ll have to try the cheese this weekend. 🙂
    -Kate

  2. I’m glad you tried the sandwiches. I wanted to do that, but haven’t had a chance yet. I made a pop tart the first time (when I accidentally used 1 stick butter), but it was too moist (and the jam came out – the dough was rolled too thin). I made the cinnamon rolls again this morning for our GIG meeting – they were gone so fast.
    I think it might make some good crackers, too (but probably not with a whole stick of butter). Two of my pigs in a blanket unrolled a bit, and that extra dough sticking out got nice and crunchy, with a good, light flavor.

    Pop tarts, huh? That sounds good too. I was just talking to my husband about filling them with jam for him. (The weirdo doesn’t eat chocolate! I swear that must be a crime somewhere, huh? LOL) He wasn’t too thrilled with my nutella versions – but I was! LOL

    Did you toast them or just eat them out of the oven?

    And yes, the extra butter does makethem a bit “doughy”, but now that I think about it, I think that is the way my sisters and I used to eat the Pillsbury ones too! LOL

    -Kate

  3. Oh My! Those look wonderful. I am going to try making a vegetable pizza now. Unfortunately Pillsbury Crescent rolls aren’t gluten free. But now I could make my veggy pizza again. Thank you so much for posting this.

    Oh – veggie pizza sounds PERFECT for dinner! I wonder if I could convince my meat-eating love to eat that for dinner withOUT a side of steak? LOL
    -Kate

  4. I just keep seeing this everywhere! I am really going to have to try this. I really miss being able to use the Pillsbury ones.

    Oh Melanie, you won’t be sad you tried it….really! It’s easy and tasty – give it a whirl! 🙂 -Kate

  5. You, my friend, are a genius. I can’t wait to try these. My mom has some super recipes that use crescent roll and I haven’t had them in ages. Just think of chicken wrapped up in GF crescent rolls and drenched in GF cream of mushroom, sour cream and cheddar cheese. Yummy!

    Coincidentally, I’m on the way to the kitchen to make a veggie pizza!

    I’m no genius – the credit goes to Naomi at BetterBatter and the crew at Delphi Forums. I’m just the happy recipient… and the extra butter brings love, huh? LOL 🙂 -Kate

  6. Ok folks, let me tell you this – I made the dough today and refridgerated it for a few hours. Rolled it out, hot dogs in, baked them, and OMG – they were so good!! This recipe is definitely a keeper. I used the full stick of butter and if you have kids, they will love this (heck, we don’t have kids and we loved them!). Kate, you get an A+ on this one!

    I’m glad you think it was worth sharing too, huh? LOL – and I LOVE the fact that you are a butter hound too! You ROCK! 🙂 – Kate

  7. Tomorrow, I’m making these.

    And you should know, there’s a Come Back Kate movement over at the site. Everyone misses you — and Mireille says it’s all clear and safe now 🙂

    A movement, huh? ruh Roh LOL Thanks for the loving message, Babe. You’re the best.

    And yes, you HAVE to make these! Even though you say you don’t bake – trust me, girlie, this will get you back in the kitchen. Just watch out for one thing…. they are ADDICTIVE! 🙂

    -Kate

  8. I can’t wait to make these! cottage cheese and cream cheese I don’t have in the house, but I’ll get some tomorrow or later to make these. They sound/look awesome.

  9. These look great. Jude would love these. Hmmm…now if only Dan would let me put him down to bake them. AND I am sure they are addictive!

    Send one of those love-bugs over, I’ll help! 🙂 – Kate

  10. OK, I made these last night and they’re SO good!!!! Thanks so much!

    Hooray! They are so ADDICTIVE, Jill – Be warned! LOL 🙂 -Kate

  11. I made the cinnamon rolls today and they were great. I was thinking, could you make the dough then freeze it? Or, make the cinnamon rolls and freeze them before you bake them? I was thinking of trying this, putting them in the fridge to defrost over night then baking in the morning.

  12. Do you think I might be able to post this recipe (with full credits to the Delphi crew, of course!)?????

    Aboslutely, Naomi! You are the inspiration for all the goodness. Post away! 🙂 -Kate

  13. Yum, I made these today with mini smokie links and added mustard seeds to the dough – so tasty and rich – I had to compensate by immediately eating some vegetables. Thanks for sharing all your recipes!

  14. I don’t know you, but I love you.

    My daughter is planning to have a Fancy Nancy (children’s books) birthday party and wants to copy the food served at Fancy Nancy’s parties. I thought it might be impossible to make GF mini crescent dogs, and then I found you! This is my first visit to your website and will be back!

  15. Have you used this recipe to make vegetable pizza? I’m wondering if the recipe needs to be doubled and how long to cook it?

  16. Kimberly says:

    I’m wondering if there is any way to make this recipe dairy free? So I would need a sub for the cottage cheese. Do you know if Tofuti sour or cream cheese would work?

  17. The recipe calls for Xantham gum, but if I’m using your GF mix which has the xantham gum in it do I still need to add this or would I omit this?

  18. Thank you for this recipe!!! I made these tonight using a full stick of butter and 8oz package of cream cheese. They tasted FANTASTIC, but were quite flat. I’m wondering if you have had this experience or maybe have a clue to steer me in the right direction. Maybe more flour or less butter? I can’t get over how absolutely wonderful they tasted! I’m freezing a small bit of dough to see how it stands up to freezing, thawing and cooking and I’m freezing the one cooked one that I managed to pry from my hubby’s hand to see how that holds up. I would love to be able to have a stash of these in the freezer 🙂

    • I had the same trouble as Michelle when I made mine yesterday. The flavor was spot on but the crescents were really flat. I did use the full stick of butter. Could that be it? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

      • Hi Erin –
        I would guess less butter as well. I’m not sure – everyone’s GF flour mix absorbs liquids/moisture so differently. I do think the flatness is from the excess of moisture – so try less butter too. 🙂 I hope it works!

    • I would try less butter, Michelle. The original recipe used less butter…. I just read it wrong.
      Hope it helps!

  19. So in googling for GF mini-weiners, we found this!! HOWEVER, we used this dough for Stromboli tonight for NYE. I made a two: One with pepperoni and provolone and one with ham and swiss. I rolled the dough out and layered the meat and rolled. I was worried halfway into cooking because it looked so mushy but the end product was AWESOME!

    No one here is GF except me and my husband and no one knew the difference. People kept saying how delicious it was.

    I tried rolling it with the flour but it kept sticking, even with parchment. What finally worked for me was olive oil! I coated the bamboo cuttnig board and my hands and was able to roll it out and then roll it up around the meat and cheese without issue. Just a suggestion if someone else has issues with stickingg.

  20. My aunt is allergic to xanthan gum, can I make this recipe without using xanthan gum? Will it still work?

    • Carol Cripps says:

      Try using ground flax or chia seeds mixed in some water. Shauna of Gluten Free Girl has recently been posting great recipes made without gums. I’d take a look at her blog, as I’m not sure how much water or flax/chia meal to use to how much water for each teaspoon of xanthan gum.

  21. Sorry if I missed it — but did anyone answer the ‘can this be frozen’ question? Just curious if you’ve tried. THANKS SO MUCH — can’t wait to try this.

  22. This was a delicious recipe, I love it! I used the crescent rolls to make sopapilla cheese cake my husband and daughters favorite dessert, thank you very much for this recipe. My daughter hasn’t eaten this since she was diagnosed with Celiacs.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Posted by glutenfreesteve under Life   Last night, I tried Kate’s  recipe for mini-crescent rolls with hot dogs.  I had some dough leftover so today, I used some to make something sweet.  I […]

  2. […] December, I was emailed a recipe that I just wrote about for Crescent Rolls. I had been wondering for VERY long time how I could make croissants to eat with my morning latte […]

  3. […] honest.  There’s something about adding a ton of butter to bread (I know.. I do it with the crescent rolls and croissants naturally are butter, butter and more butter) that just turns me off sometimes.  I […]

  4. […] Oh, and dessert!  I am going to try and make some sort of cherry popover/turnover using the crescent roll recipe that Kate posted about earlier this year.  We’ve been using Carol Fenster’s sorghum […]

  5. […] posted her version of mini-crescent dogs at Gluten Free Gobsmacked. Categories : Appetizers, Kid-friendly, Lunch, Special […]

  6. […] pie (make ahead OR make muffin-sized (lunch/dinner) OR make with crescent roll dough  for last […]

Leave a comment