GF: Roasted Artichokes

Tonight we had a quick dinner. We were out and about today running errands, etc and I wasn’t in the mood for anything too much. That and I was desperate to use up whatever was hiding in the fridge. Thus it was time for the artichoke to be eaten.

I really enjoy artichokes. Although I can’t say the same for prepping them or cleaning them. LOL It’s a necessary task, only made easier when I know that it is NOT going to take an hour of steaming before I can eat it.

I used to order stuffed artichokes at a favorite restaurant in Chicago. I loved the buttery toasted bread crumbs with the artichoke heart. And while that dish is STILL possible with GF Bread (really, it is!), I wasn’t in the mood for stuffing artichokes. I just wanted dinner.

So we roasted them instead. I don’t think I’m going back to my stuff artichoke again. Honest. This is a simple and perfect way to eat and enjoy some artichoke.

How do you eat or prepare artichoke in your house?

I can’t wait to learn some more recipes now that I am on a roll! 🙂 Here’s what I did tonight for you to try too.

Roasted Artichokes – Gluten Free, Naturally!
Ingredients:
2 artichokes
1/4 cup lemon juice (4 tablespoons)
2-3 Tablespoons olive oil
Salt & black pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Add two tablespoons of lemon juice to a bowl of cold water. The bowl needs to be deep enough that the cleaned artichokes can be dipped completely into the lemon juice & water.
  2. Clean the artichokes. (I trim the outer leaves the chop off the top teeny portion. Then I slice the artichoke in half and core out the center.) Dip the cleaned artichoke into the lemon juice and water.
  3. Boil 3-4 quarts of water with the rest of the lemon juice (2 Tablespoons). Add the artichoke halves and simmer for 4-5 minutes until bright green.
  4. Preheat oven to 425F.
  5. Drain & pat dry artichoke halves. Cut each piece into quarters. (Giving you eight pieces from each artichoke.) IF your artichoke is smaller than what I used, you should still be able to get six pieces from each by cutting the halves into thirds.
  6. Toss artichoke pieces gently with olive oil, black pepper and salt to taste. (We added some red cayenne pepper to give it a little more kick too.)
  7. Lay artichoke pieces on to a piece of parchment paper/cookie sheet. Roast until the pieces begin to crisp and color nicely (about 25 minutes).
  8. Serve with your favorite dipping sauce. (We like mustard-mayo or chipotle-mayo for quick dipping sauces.)

And your artichoke recipe?
Oh I do hope you will share!
Happy GF Eating –
Kate

Comments

  1. Cassandra says:

    I have never had artichokes. I need to get out more, lol.

  2. I can’t wait to have my first artichokes of the season! Your recipe is similar to the one I use, but I include mint and mustard in the marinade. You can see the recipe here:
    http://www.post-gazette.com/food/20001130party1a.asp

  3. We adore artichokes. Sometimes it does take us a few days after we buy them to actually cook them becuase of the time involved. So this recipe with a shorter cooking time is wonderful, plus we really enjoy roasted vegetables. Can’t wait to try it. As far as recipes, we’ve recently been enjoying spinach artichoke dip. That’s one of those things that you can almost never get GF when dining out, although almost all recipes are GF. At Applebees, not only does the spinach artichoke dip contain gluten, but their tortilla chips also contain gluten. Ugh. Anyway, here’s the one I found online and we’ve been enjoying occasionally. You use plain artichoke hearts vs marinated ones. It’s heavy on calories and fat so we usually enjoy it over several days or with friends on hand. http://www.recipezaar.com/1209

    I just visited a friend in Fairhope, AL. She is also gluten intolerant and took me to a favorite dining spot, The Sunflower Cafe. They specialize in fresh and organic ingredients and had many recipes that were labeled as lactose free, gluten free, or vegan. (Some naturally met those requirements, but others they would modify as necessary.) We ordered individual spinach artichoke pizzas that were made on pita bread. They made the GF pita bread there. Admittedly, I was a bit skeptical and we grilled them with questions, but felt comfortable and OMG how wonderful that pizza was!! Also, topped with tomato slices and herbs, it was out of this world.

  4. Just so we’re clear, and we have this out in the open in advance…you are making this for me whenever I come over to dinner. 🙂

    Any time, Steve. 🙂 – Kate

  5. Stephanie says:

    YUM!!! I will be throwing mine on the grill soon!
    We are a steamed artichoke family. My mom always used the pressure cooker, but I’m still kind of afraid of that. So I trim them the way you do, though leaving them whole. Turn em upside down in the steaming basket, and they’re done when a leaf from about 1/2way in can be pulled out easily with tongs. (25 minutes?)

    Last summer I grilled some, and it was extraordinary! Now I know I can roast them in the oven when it’s raining or in the winter.

    We made ours last week. One dipping sauce was half plain yogurt, half mayo, a handfull of chopped fresh dill, a sprinkle of the dry stuff (the flavor seems to penetrate more quickly), garlic powder, dash of cayenne, salt & white pepper. Dipping sauce 2 was fresh sliced garlic and thyme cooked in olive oil, adding a little butter at the end.

  6. I love how simple this recipe is. These roasted artichoke hearts look absolutely delicious!

  7. I thank you for the recipie, but I would also like the mustard and mayo sause for it too. Thank you

Trackbacks

  1. […] Cauliflower and Zucchini from Stephanie of Wasabimon -Roasted Artichokes from Kate of Gluten Free Gobsmacked -Caramelized Brussels Sprouts from Gwyneth of […]

Leave a comment