Gluten Free Homemade “Oreos”

Okay… don’t tell anyone… but I just ate the best freakin’ “Oreo” cookie. Don’t worry. I didn’t fall off the gluten-free diet. And yes, I will have to log more elliptical hours for this treat.

But honestly, I just needed a little chocolate to relieve this spinning roller coaster ride that we are on. It’s called “adoption” for anyone who is just tuning in.

Based on our best time estimates and guesses, we are now 2-3 weeks away from either having our baby home OR at least KNOWING when she will be able to come home. It feels surreal. Everything now is completely out of our control. It’s even beyond the US Embassy’s control. We expect our paperwork to be officially registered with the Embassy in Seoul either today or Monday. From that moment on, everything lies in the hands of the South Korean Government and the Korean adoption agency. OH! PLEASE! Let them have all their ducks in a row and ready to go! We want our baby home!

Someone on the adoption forum (that I have been completely stalking lately, I swear.) asked today how those of us who were getting closer to that magic “travel date/call” were feeling. She wondered if we felt giddy or nervous or what. To be honest, it took me more than an hour to figure out how to even answer her question. LOL

When my friends at work begin to ask “So… any baby news?”, I look at them like a deer caught in the headlights. I’m swimming in emotions and dreams and joys. And then sometime about 2:30AM last night, the weight of our commitment and parenting endeavor feel completely on to my spirit and soul. For a brief moment, I found myself holding my breath with wonder. And abject terror. It was all consuming.

And then I slowly released my breath and took a few more deep breaths. I rolled over and looked at my love who was fast asleep. Our black lab was curled on the foot of the bed (or rather *on my feet!*) and the two of them were breathing in unison.

“So,” I thought. “Our little clan of three will soon become four.”

And then I discovered the tear that had escaped my eye as it cascaded down on to the pillow.

Oh, I am so incredibly humbled to have the life I lead.

When I awoke this morning, the rains had stopped (we are surrounded by flood waters but our town is *wet* (8-10 inches of rain in 48 hours), but no flooding.) I could feel the tension in my jaw from all of this waiting. And wondering and not knowing.

It was time for chocolate.
Oh yea. I needed something comforting.

I started to make some dark chocolate cookies and then I thought about good old Oreos. The only problem is that you can’t just make the TWO cookies I wanted to eat. This meant I would have to make them in time to feed my colleagues. Let me just say, tomorrow my colleagues shall feast on homemade gluten-free cookies and NONE of them will even guess that they are gluten-free.

Well, until they see me eating one too.

Tonight when we lost power, I was just about to make the frosting. So there we sat at the kitchen table, visiting about our day as I mixed together some filling by hand. Please forgive me, but the measurements listed below are absolute complete guesses. I just dumped things in to the bowl and mixed. (And by the way, I am surprised by what I wimp I am at mixing! OH! I have been *so* spoiled by our stand mixer!)

And wouldn’t you know it? Just as I filled the last “Oreo”, the lights came on.

Ah well. I guess we won’t have many candle-lit romantic cookie dinners once the kidlet is here, right? I’d better take advantage of the ones I get when I get them, huh?

What are your latest food cravings and joys?
I am still seeking some new life in the kitchen!
It always calms me down to bake. I think I will have to tackle a new recipe soon.

In the meantime, maybe this Oreo recipe will give you all a shot of joy. They absolutely fit the bill for me – crunchy cookie (but NOT crumbly) and a creamy, sweet (but not sugary) center. I’m in heaven.

Grab a glass of milk, kids.
You’re going to want to dunk ’em!

Gluten Free Homemade Oreo Cookies
Makes 2 dozen + cookie sandwiches
Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
1/2 cup tapioca flour
1/4 cup buckwheat flour (or teff)
1/2 cup millet flour (or sorghum or fine rice)
1/2 cup dark cocoa powder (unsweetened)
1 1/2 teaspoons instant espresso powder
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F
  2. Beat butter until creamy and smooth.
  3. Add sugar. Cream together (3-4 minutes).
  4. Add vanilla and egg. Beat together again for 2-3 minutes.
  5. In a separate bowl, combine the remaining ingredients (tapioca flour, buckwheat flour, millet flour, dark cocoa powder, espresso powder, xanthan gum, baking soda, baking powder, and salt). Stir together or whisk together gently.
  6. Add dry ingredients to sugar/egg/butter mixture. Mix together on low speed until the dough comes together. (It will come together, even though at first it appears like it won’t.)
  7. Cover cookie pans with parchment paper.
  8. Pinch the dough off in small bits (teaspoon size) and roll in to a ball. Place them on the parchment paper. Place another (small) piece of parchment paper on top of the ball and press with a flat-bottomed glass to 1/4 inch thickness. Continue placing balls and flattening them but be sure that the flattened cookies have at least 2 inches between them.
  9. Bake the cookies for 8 – 9 minutes. Allow to cool a couple minutes before sliding on to a cooling rack and cooling completely.
  10. Cookies can be eaten as is, stored in an airtight container for up to 10 days or so. OR you can fill them like I did.

“Oreo” Cookie Filling
*Please note these measurements are ESTIMATES!)
Ingredients:

1/3 cup shortening
1 1/2 cups – 2 cups of powdered sugar (start with 1 1/2 cups)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon orange extract
1/4 teaspoon lemon extract
2-3 Tablespoons cold water

Directions:

  1. Beat together all ingredients until a thick, non-sticky dough forms.
  2. Form the filling into 1-inch balls and press to the back of one cookie. Top with another cookie and press together.
  3. Enjoy!

Dipped in milk or as it – these cookies are GREAT!

And guess what? No kid will ever miss the Oreos from the store. Not when you have these around!

Happy Cookie Baking, All!
-Kate

Comments

  1. Julialuli says:

    It’s hard to even write to a “stranger” how excited I feel for you. I feel like I’m lurking on your life, but I just love your blog.

    If this is the last recipe you have time to leave, thank goodness! My two children, who are almost 13 and almost 10 (who I still kiss when they are sleeping) will be in heaven!

    Best, best, best…Juls

  2. I thought you might enjoy knowing that while we wait for our call (domestic adoption, due next week) I plan to make a double batch of your granola bars to carry with us on the road. (Though, I must admit, I’ve tweaked them a bit. But, the inspiration – yours.) We anticipate several weeks away from home in a hotel, eating out more than we would like. A yummy granola bar for my midnight snack? Yum.

    This waiting is making me crazy! I know that in the end it will be worth it and that I will wonder why I was in such a state, but for now, we wait. And wait…hang in there! 🙂

  3. If these Oreo knockoffs 😉 are even half as good as they look in this picture, Kate, they will be phenomenal!

    It’s understandable you are going crazy with waiting and not having an exact schedule. I’ve heard this same tale from so many others who have adopted from other countries. One couple who adopted from Uzbekistan had to go there for 2 weeks, but didn’t know until the last minute when they’d actually be leaving-sheesh. The best part of the waiting of course comes at the end–in your case, your beautiful little girl! Try to offset the tension and roller coaster feelings, by getting in a walk or doing something else aerobic and yes, remember to breathe (how can something so simple, sometimes be so hard?).

    FYI–I just linked to your fried chicpkea recipe when I posted at http://www.noblepig.com in response to Cathy’s roasted chickpea recipe. Of course, now I am dying for one (or both) of those recipes. Could be my breakfast! (I do love a high-protein, unconventional breakfast.)

    Hugs,
    Shirley

  4. you are just evil Kate!!! I WANT TO MAKE THESE!!!! AND I seriously need to lose weight. You stink! haha! ;-P Stop posting such wonderful looking treats!! just kidding!! These look amazing!! Will have to save baking them for a special treat!!

  5. Wow those cookies look heavenly! Thank you for posting it!

    I’m so happy for you, adoption is a wonderful thing! My family in the middle of an adoption too, so I can understand how you feel. Sometimes the just “not knowing” can drive you almost insane. I’m glad that you are almost done, because we still don’t know when we will be getting ours. I’ll be praying for you and your little one (and the whole adoption process)!

    Blessings,
    Rebecca

  6. jillelise says:

    Hmm, I’ve been planning to redo my oreo post ( http://www.heythattastesgood.com/2007/06/here-we-go.html ) now that I know how to take pictures, because I realize I haven’t had them in a looooong time, but I’m so backed up in desserts! I bet that will be my next project, thanks for the inspiration!

    Oh, and you know what’s delicious? If you fold in some peanut butter, or mint into the filling….

  7. Thanks for posting!!!! Can’t wait to try!!! DS will be so excited to have these!!!!

    And what I really appreciate is the list of subs you suggest!!! It really helps out, especially for the beginners!

    We can’t do eggs…anyone suggest the best sub…if any?
    We also can’t do butter…again, anyone suggest the best sub for this too?

    Thanks again!
    Good luck with the adoption process!
    Fingers are crossed for ur family!
    Jennifer

  8. Gluten Free Steve says:

    Geez, did you forget my mailing address to send me some? Holy moly, these look great!!!

  9. If you have any left, would you stick two in an envelope and send them to me? They should last me for about a month! A nibble at a time.

    I personally can’t wait until you’re FOUR. Auntie Ging

  10. Oh so very excited for you! And impressed by your willpower to only eat two – especially when under the weight of the wait! 🙂 I would eat them all at a go, and I’m just a student!

  11. oh my… OREOS!!!!!!!
    Thank you ~ they look deelish!

    Waiting with you ~ fishie

  12. Thankyou for posting all your gluten free successes. I have been using a number of your recipes on a daily basis. You mock lavash is our staple bread. You granola bars are a staple snack for my kids, adapted so that the picky one will eat them (no fruit, added chocolate). I can’t wait to try the oreos, I will be the best mom EVER (at least for the day, or the hour, or that minute).

    You will love being a mom, it’s hard, it’s rewarding, it’s amazing all wrapped up not so neatly. My triplets are 13 now and I wouldn’t trade my life for anything. Good luck.

  13. Om nom nom nom nom…..

    Some of my best baking has been the gluten free version of a wheat recipe. I made a lemon angel cake for my gf friends birthday last year. Her entire family, who is also gf, all commented that it tasted like real cake.

    No one knew any different.

    *squee* baby news soon!!!!!
    Finger crossed its all good news and no one on the Sth Korean side is being a sick grumpy bums and taking their sweet time about the paperwork!!!

    I would cross my toes for you too but, I think I broke one at a wedding on friday……

    Good luck!!

  14. These look wonderful! I just started a gluten free diet and it’s good to know that I can still eat something like this!

  15. I am so excited for you!

  16. You have just become my hero! Not just because of the oreo cookie creation, but because you are taking a beautiful child into your home. I feel very excited for you as you and your love enter in this new phase of your life!

    Also, thank you for the oreo cookie recipe, I will be making these ASAP!!!

  17. I can’t wait to try this recipe! By the way, used your wrap recipe for a soft taco for my son today since I made a taco spread for the gang who came over to celebrate Joshua’s first birthday. I just made them a little thicker and it was perfect for him!

    2-3 weeks – oh my! Of course you look like a deer in the headlights. Take my advice – sleep, sleep, sleep.:)
    Debbie

  18. Those look delicious! I can see a pregnancy craving coming on…. And its funny, but even though I know roughly when to expect my little one, there is still this sense of surrealism and awe and terror and absolute joy at the same time. Whatever path we may take to becoming a parent, I think we all have the same roller coaster ride, just on different tracks. Best wishes while waiting!

  19. capribythelake says:

    Wow, those look amazing! Thank you for sharing, I can’t wait to try them!

  20. I smile everytime I see this picture!
    I haven’t made them yet, but I’m sure I will eventually.

  21. Oh good heavens yes. I just made these with my daughter, who is home from kindergarten due to a storm. Best snow day ever. I didn’t have any of your filling ingredients except the sugar, so I made a white chocolate buttercream instead. Sooo good. Thank you!

  22. These look wonderful! If I ever eat gluten it is almost bound to be an oreo. I can’t wait to try them. 🙂

  23. Oh my GOD these lok fantastic! My mouth is watering like craz yjust reading the recipe….oh yes, I have to make these! thank you (and good luck :))

  24. I just made these! they worked great with ‘no egg’ too [2 t powder + 4 T water = 1 egg]

  25. I’m going to make them this week. I’m so excited because i’ve been on a biscuit/muffin/popover kick so there have been no cookies in my house in a while. 🙂

  26. Just stumbled onto your blog. Those look amazing! 🙂

    Hope all goes well with the end of the adoption.

  27. Kate – I just recently checked out your blog. Just know that she will be worth the wait! These cookies are amazing. I, alone, have eaten half of them so far. I only used vanilla and a few squeezes of lemon for the icing (as I didn’t have the other extracts) and it came out yummy! Thanks for the recipe, I really enjoy your site!

  28. glutenfree4goofs says:

    Oh man these look incredible, I can’t wait to try them! I agree with Heather, I keep coming back to look at them and have the ingredients on my “wish list” for the text run to town and the grocery store.

  29. OH MY GOODNESS. What a wonderful cookie creation you have here. They are great. You really hit the nail in the head with the flavors — the coffee and orange both bring such complexity. I made mine with a chocolate filling (cause that’s my favorite oreo), so good. And for any vegans or non-egg eaters a flax gel works as an egg replacer.

  30. Hey, I know that you posted this a while ago, but some recipes are timeless. Thanks. This one is so yummy. I’m linking to your site for this one if that’s okay.

  31. elislunch says:

    thank you, thank you, thank you!

  32. Hi Kate, I was soooo delighted to find your oreo recipe could be made without any rice flour (personal dislike)!!! I froze the cookies before baking them and after that they hardly spread. Thank you so much for brightening up our gluten free household. With a gluten free toddler life resembles a rocky road sometimes 😉
    Wishing you and your family all the best,
    Suzy

  33. We made these cookies with a marshmallow filling and served them to non-GF guests. They said wow and had seconds! My Mom who is GF and allergic to Potatoes was able to eat these as well, so we were all able to enjoy. Thank you so much for this recipe!

  34. I’m wondering if I can make the filling with Earth Balance instead of conventional shortening??

  35. I made these last week and they came out great, everyone liked them! The only thing I personally didn’t like was the orange flavor in the filling and I may only put 1 teaspoon of espresso powder the next time because that really jumped out at me, but no one else. I might try the marshmallow for the filling.

    They were still good and didn’t last long at all! Everyone is waiting for me to cook another batch. Thanks!

  36. Thanks for this! My now gluten free husband is an avid double-stuf Oreo lover. Our wedding anniversary is coming up and while he “doesn’t want anything” as a gift I’m going to surprise him with these.

    Thanks so much!

  37. I have converted, with these “magic” cookies, three of my friends to GF Baking! I have been GF since August, and I feel wonderful! Our cookie jar is never empty!

  38. I can’t even tell you how many times in the last year I have used this recipe. I packaged all the dry ingredients so my college kids just add butter, vanilla and an egg and they immediately eat! My son, the college guy dipped them in mint chocolate and now we’re eating Girl Scout Thin Mints! I can’t tell you how happy this recipe has made us. Thanks again, again and again.

  39. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe. I have numerous allergies (wheat and rice being two very big ones) that make it VERY difficult to bake, even in the gluten-free areas! This recipe was perfect and my family and I are going CRAZY over these cookies! I hope everything works out for you with the little one! Lame as it sounds, keep positive!

Trackbacks

  1. […] the spoon i took it off the heat. about 8 minutes of simmering. if you haven’t checked out gobsmacked you should she has wonderful gluten free […]

  2. […] recipe I came across recently that was to die for are these Gluten Free Homemade ”Oreo’s”  by Kate Chan at Gluten Free […]

  3. […] Before I go on, I MUST STRESS that UNLESS you decide to NOT have Oreos, this cake is FAR FROM GLUTEN FREE. Suppose you could have a gorgeous pink strawberry ice-cream or a mint&choc chip cake instead. JUST NO COOKIES AND CREAM, unless you decide to make your own GF Oreos. […]

  4. […] GF Roll Out Cookies GF Peppermint Bark Layers GF Pretzel Kisses GF Chocolate Coated Toffee GF Hot Air Candy GF Buckeye Balls (peanut butter balls dipped in chocolate) GF Sponge cake with fruit GF Oreos […]

Leave a comment