GF: Curried Chicken and Rice Soup


I’ve lost my voice. I have a sore throat. Neither of these two things bode well for a woman who makes her living by talking. I suppose some teachers can get away with talking less, but a foreign language teacher? Um. No. It doesn’t work.

I went to bed with a scratchy throat and woke up at 5:00AM unable to breathe and unable to talk. My love insisted that I call in sick and stay in bed. Didn’t take much to convince me either.

The other night I had felt a cold coming on. My love was out grocery shopping (usually a task we do together with joy). I had stayed home under a blanket. He called and I gave him a list of things to make chicken and rice soup. I knew I was going to need it.

And then this morning arrived. Soup started calling the minute I finally rose from bed. My plan was to at least move to another room to be a bump on a log there. The dog/blanket was a bonus. (Love that dog! He is the best blanket in the world!)

While I was chopping garlic and shallots for my soup (with the pup underfoot), I began to change my typical plain-Jane recipe. I don’t know why. But it worked for me. I will make this one again and vary the veggies I use. For now, I am satisfied. I’ve eaten two bowls of soup (unheard of when I’m sick!) and have leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Hooray! (Wait… did I really just cheer for leftovers? OMG. I did.)

I hope you like this as well. Some curry soup recipes call for a thickener of flour and water to be added to the soup. I used rice in the soup to give it more bulk and thicken. I wonder now if I will add more broth next time or lessen the amount of rice. The picture (not pretty, but tasty!) above is the second bowl of soup – after it had sat for quite a while and the rice began absorbing more and more of the broth. It was significantly thicker than the first bowl with was just right. Here’s the recipe I used this morning – although measurements are estimates as I was just tossing things into a pot. Take heart – it’s soup – you really can’t do anything wrong to it. 🙂

Curried Chicken and Rice Soup
Ingredients:
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 shallot, minced
1/2 medium sweet yellow onion, rough chopped
2 Tablespoons GF curry powder or homemade curry spice mix
1 can (15oz) coconut milk
6 cups chicken broth
2 sweet potatoes, cubed into 1/2″ cubes
1 cup frozen corn
3/4 cup long grain rice, rinsed but not soaked
2 organic chicken breasts, roughly chopped

Directions:

  1. Once all of the items are prepped, heat your stock/soup pot over medium-high heat with 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Once the olive oil slides around the pan easily/water-like, add your onions and shallots. Saute until softened and slightly browned. Add the garlic. Saute until fragrant (1-2 minutes). Add the curry seasonings and stir together to spread the seasoning evenly.
  2. Add chopped chicken and brown quickly for 4-5 minutes.
  3. Add sweet potatoes, chicken broth and coconut milk. Bring to a boil.
  4. Add rice. Stir well. Return to a boil briefly.
  5. Reduce heat to a slow simmer.
  6. Simmer for 20 minutes.
  7. Add frozen corn and stir for 1-2 minutes. Turn off heat.
  8. Stir to evenly distribute ingredients well.

Servce with warm toast and ginger ale if your throat is feeling like mine.
But I honestly hope it’s not!
Regardless, I hope you enjoy it!
Happy GF Eating!
-Kate

Comments

  1. Kate, that looks scrumptious – such a great combination of flavors! Hope you feel better soon.

    P.S. I don’t cook with shallots that often, so please educate me. Why the shallot and the onion? I thought that they were pretty close to being the same thing so I usually just sub an onion in for any shallots in a recipe. What am I missing out on?

    Mary Frances


    I used shallots and onions because .. well… I dunno. Shallots have a distinct flavor (some say they taste like red onions + garlic… but I don’t necessarily agree with that). I enjoy the flavor of shallots a lot – and we often have them on hand. I have always used a whole onion in my curries (although there are some curries that use 1 cup of shallots (!)!) but this time I just used 1/2 onion so I could taste it mixed with garlic.

    I think you will like the flavor of shallots. They are sure easier to store than big onions! LOL
    -Kate

  2. estherreeves says:

    sorry to hear you are ill. My mum was a teacher and her voice often went when she was ill.

  3. that looks SOOO good kate! I LOVE curried anything!! Especially curried lamb! I hope you feel better very very soon!! I love shallots too! They are cute as well!

  4. I hate it! Jeffrey gave you his cold/sore throat. He is still sick, three days into it, so I hope your soup brings you back quickly! You have to be ready for my grand arrival on Thursday. Just kidding, but you were so sweet to offer. HEY. Isn’t your anniversary this week some time?
    Feel better, mi amiga. (THAT is about all the Spanish I know.)

  5. Hey Kate- I’m the one with sniffles today, perusing weekend comfort food ideas. I linked this recipe on my Weekend Picks post today. Thanks for the inspiration.

  6. Can you tell me how many servings this is?

  7. This looks AMAZING–I just linked it on my FB page.

    I would use leftover rice or make the rice separately so it doesn’t sop up all the broth. And maybe dump some frozen peas and carrots in? Or green onions

    I have to make this tomorrow.

Leave a comment