Anyone up for a BBQ?

I am!

If only the weather would cooperate! It’s NOT pleasant. I’m cold! (I know, I should NOT complain about this as it could become QUITE hot when I’m home this summer…without air conditioning…and the house is wrapped in plastic (no windows to open) for the painters…bah!).

There are two+ weeks of school left before I will get a chance to catch my breath. I’m lost in the tornado that is the end of a school year for a teacher. It’s always a little bittersweet for me. I know my students really well by June and I hate to see the year end…but I’m so stinkin’ tired and have very little energy left to keep coming up with creative ways to engage their brains. I need a break. So do they.

This weekend the foreign exchange students (there are three girls here + one boy…plus one American student…OMG!!)) are coming for an overnight at our house. (What were we thinking?!?) We had hoped to be able to set them up outside, have a BBQ, build a fire in the fire pit and let them sit around, roasting marshmallows and talking until all hours of the night. However, the weather looks like it will be too chilly for a BBQ….maybe even too wet for a fire pit and roasting marshmallows. So we are moving inside for fondue and caramel popcorn (or peanut butter popcorn, which they love too).

However, I still want a BBQ.

And more importantly, as all parties at our house are gluten-free – I want a GF BBQ with Steve, Ginger, Carrie, Natalie, Jill, Seamaiden, Jeff, Lucy, Cassandra, MaryFrances, Dianne, Kay, The GlutiGirls, Thomas, Anna, Sheltie Girl, …. okay.. I feel like the magic mirror moment here could sweep me away. I’d better stop – but trust me, YOU ARE INVITED!

Let’s have a VIRTUAL Gluten-Free BBQ

Make something that you would bring to a BBQ in a park or at a friend’s house – and let’s have a party! Post your pictures, recipes, etc on your blog (or email them to me if you aren’t a blogger and I’ll help share your goodies) by July 7th and I’l post a round up for us all to share the goodies. I hope we can build a resource for everyone for the rest of the summer.

I truly excited to try and make a game out of this too. Do you remember the children’s game “I’m going on a picnic and I’m going to bring….”? The first person says something that begins with a letter A and then the second person says something that begins with a letter B, etc OH! We could have fun! So let’s add a wrinkle. Sign up and tell me which letter of the alphabet you want for your post too!

  • WHAT: A Virtual Gluten Free BBQ Party
  • WHO: YOU! (of course! Blogger or not – join the fun!)
  • HOW: Pick a letter of the alphabet (or not), create your picnic/BBQ dish (Like Apple Coleslaw = A, etc), take a picture, post your recipe/picture on your blog (or email it to me), post it or email it by July 7th and link back to me here.
  • LOGOS: Here are two logos for you to use with your post:

  • HOW DO YOU SIGN UP: Comment, babee, comment!
  • AVAILABLE LETTERS OF THE ALPHABET:

Comments

  1. I am game. Do we sign up for a letter? I want C, if that is the case!

    Hooray! A taker! And Natalie, the C is yours! 🙂 -Kate

  2. Woo Hoo! A GF BBQ!!
    I’ll take anything “SS”—- super simple that can be grilled for $100.
    I’ll bring this http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/SUN-DRIED-TOMATO-AND-PESTO-TORTA-102634
    It’s fabulous on White Cheddar Rice Cakes and Almond Crackers. Leftovers are smeared on GF Teff Wraps/Tortillas with lettuce and bacon for the best BLT’s ever round here.

  3. I used a random number generator and pulled g…. actually I pulled x and demanded a do-over.

  4. Oooh I want to play! I would like to use the letter P 🙂

  5. Oh hell yeah, I’m in.
    I’ll take the letter…….F.
    And I’ll try to keep it clean…
    *actually, it’s for a chicken dish I’m trying this weekend, Fiesta Chicken).

    Will post by the weekend!
    MUCH love, Ging xoxo

  6. Sounds like fun Kate! Please sign me up for the letter L, although I admit I am cheating a little – it will be for Little Grandmom’s Swedish cookies.

    Thomas

  7. A barbie? In this weather? Perhaps we could do it indoors, under the kitchen table with a blanket thrown over to make a tent …

    And Thomas has taken L. Drat. Well, I’m going to cheat a lot, and make you Icecream – with an I, please. Assuming, of course, that the weather is going to get a lot better.

  8. oh just twist my arm why don’t cha kate!! I’ll take the letter A please!!!

  9. I’ve got D…Lynn, the random number generator idea is awesome. I would have been here for hours otherwise trying to figure out which letter to take =)

  10. glutenfreesoxfan says:

    Oooh! I love a good bbq! I’m sitting here torn between wanting something northern/seafood and good old memphis style ribs.

    I’ll take M. Thanks!
    Karen

  11. Hi! This sounds like fun!! I’m in, and I’ll take O!

  12. I’m working on a BBQ project for this weekend! Count me in. I’ll take “V” since that’s what everyone calls me 🙂

  13. I’ll take the letter B, if you please. Not sure if I’ll be bringing beans, broccoli, bouillabaise or bread, but that letter sure gives me a lot of options!

    -Rachel

  14. Mmmm… I’ve been trying to do more Quinoa dishes, (everyone needs a side dish!!) so could I take Q?

  15. Ok, my post is up already!! Happy BBQ’ing everyone!!

  16. Y is for Yummy….well, you’ll have to check my blog in a few days to see what yummy I’m bringing. Great idea, Kate, and thanks for inviting me.

  17. Oh what the hey! I’ll take W for something wacky!

    M-Elle

  18. Glutigirl says:

    Oh fun! I’ll take the letter E. It’s getting hard to think of things to make with the other letters! I’m making eggs!

  19. Hi Kate,

    I’ll take the letter T. This will be my first gf summer. My tomato pie is always in demand during the garden season. I need to convert it to gf. So it’s time for me to try my first ever gf pie crust, and whip up some homemade mayonnaise. The hardest part will be waiting for my tomatoes to ripen.

    Thank you for the invitation!

  20. Oh I’m so late! No fair, I’m in Europe where I’m not online much!!!! Sign me up, for whatever letter!

  21. Cassandra says:

    Oh, heck. I’ve been without internet since Wednesday because of the conference. I wanted B for brisket. I’ll have to think more about this and get back to you. I just wanted to let you know I’m still here! BTW – the conference was fabulous. Next year, Seattle.

  22. Cassandra says:

    Okay, I’ll take R.

  23. OK, my Very berry, Very yummy BBQ cake is up here: http://deliciouslygf.blogspot.com/2008/06/first-bbq-of-season.html

  24. Oh goodey, ‘J ‘ for Jacie not taken yet, count me in Gluten Free Wiggs, don’t know what I’m going to make yet. It will be a surprise! Until then!

  25. It looks like H isn’t taken yet. I’ll grab it 🙂

  26. Hey! Has no one taken “U” yet? Sign me up for it, Kate! This sounds like so much fun!

  27. I totally want to participate, and I’ll take “Z”…well, because it’s the only letter left. I am growing my first zucchini plants this year (are 2 plants too many?!), so perhaps “Z” is appropriate!

  28. Hi Kate! Where should I put the Nana Skillet Cake? All of the tables are full of so much yummy food! Thanks so much for hosting.

    http://www.gfandhealthy.com/2008/07/04/nana-skillet-bread/

  29. Cassandra says:

    I made it, but just barely, lol.

    Rhubarb and Strawberry Crisp – BBQ Time

  30. Hi Kate, my bbq post is up. It’s a little rough right now, but I’ll tweak it tomorrow when I have access to the pictures and a few other things that I wanted to add.

    Thanks for the invite – this is great!!!

    http://cookinguncooking-m-elle.blogspot.com/2008/07/let-bbq-begin.html

  31. Hey Kate, my post is finally up. Sorry I didn’t get a picture – we had a bit of an issue this past weekend and I wasn’t able to make my recipe. BUT, I can assure you that it is good and worthy of BBQ inclusion.

    Thanks for the invite to participate. I really enjoyed it.

    Thomas

    http://gfcfexperience.blogspot.com/2008/07/l-is-for-little-grandmoms-swedish.html

Trackbacks

  1. […] be sure to sign up for the Virtual GF BBQ Party!** (See this post for more […]

  2. […] Gluten Free BBQ and my weekend trip! Jump to Comments So check this out, Kate over at Gobsmacked has decided to have a BBQ! I thought this sounded like a fun idea.  So why not sign […]

  3. […] Sunday: Memphis Style Pork Ribs Cole Slaw (check back for the rib recipe – I’m “bringing” it to Kate’s BBQ) […]

  4. […] over at Gluten Free Gobsmacked decided to host a BBQ Party, and we are all invited!  We all picked a letter of the alphabet to plan our dish around.  I […]

  5. […] Today before they came, I made some XXX cookies. Nothing perverse. XXX (XXXX) is actually a baker’s term for confectioner’s sugar – or powdered sugar. And no, I didn’t know that. While I might be a mighty geek (and klutz if we are going to get technical), I actually did a little research in the letter “x” and food for the BBQ. […]

  6. […] will also be posting for the Virtual GF BBQ soon and bringing my ‘nana Skillet bread, which is one of my personal all time faves. I just […]

  7. […] the time I got to stop by Kate’s Virtual BBQ Party, most of the letters, (aside from q and z, I think) were taken. So I figured I that N would work, […]

  8. […] July 8, 2008 I’m late, I’m late, I’m late, for two very important dates… Posted by Lynn under Uncategorized   The last couple weeks have been a whirlwind of, dare I say it, fun? Fun is a little dangerous in my world, with my PhD exams looming and a lot of reading on my plate. But it is refreshing sometimes to just let loose and live a little. Still, I haven’t been spending much time around the blog, and I realized today that I’m late to two blogging events I signed up to participate in: Adopt a Gluten Free Blogger (hosted by the Book of Yum) and Kate’s gluten-free barbecue. […]

  9. […] picking up the pieces. And reading a million awesome recipes from my GF blogger buddies. OH MY – the BBQ recipes are too die for! I can’t wait to try them all! (I will get a BBQ Round Up post done […]

  10. […] 12, 2008 in Gluten Free The virtual BBQ party has left me with enough recipes and ideas to make it through every BBQ that crops up this summer. […]

  11. […] BBQ where bloggers were assigned a letter of the alphabet to create a dish from. Check it out on Gluten free Gobsmacks blog ( there are also some really great recipe ideas featured here)! While this is a lofty a large task […]

Leave a comment